2015 -2016 Foundation Board Members

Board of Directors


Mary Ellen Shay, President
Business Owner
M. E. Shay and Company

H. Vince Jacobs, Vice President
Community Volunteer, Mediator

Ahamadou Bocar, Treasurer
Partner, CohnReznick

Nancy Stockman, Secretary
Community Volunteer


Julius Austin
Center for Fathers and Families

Katy Boase
Community Volunteer




Ashley Boulton Associate, Downey Brand

Clark Carter High School Teacher

Nancy Lawrence Community Volunteer

Kristan Otto Community Volunteer

Jeanne Petersson Principal, Cohn Reznick

Beth Southorn Executive Director, LifeSTEPS

Wendy Wood The Karuna Project, Saybrook University

Foundation Staff

April Butcher, Executive Director.  April  has been the Foundation’s Executive Director since 2007.  “I have worked and volunteered a great deal for children’s organizations and democracy efforts around the country and have come to see libraries as the most significant democratic institution for children in the United States.”  April is  the Vice President, President Elect of the California Public Library Advocates (CPLA) which is focused on supporting Friends, Foundation, Trustees and Commissioners in California.  She obtained a Theater Arts degree  from San Francisco State University and an MBA in Finance from The F.W. Olin Graduate School of Business, Babson College.

Dejan Zbur, Database Coordinator, is seeking his bachelor degree from CSUS majoring in English. He processes all of the Foundation’s donations, and supports the author’s selection committee for our annual gala, Authors on the Move. Dejan is an aspiring author himself and one day will be an author at our annual event.